Introducing the new Council

Following the Local Government Elections on Saturday 12 October 2019 the members of the Council for 2019 – 22 are:

Mayor: Bruce Smith
Northern Ward: Anna Hart, Jenny Keogan and Jane Neale
Hokitika Ward: David Carruthers, Paul (Tanka) Davidson and Latham Martin
Southern Ward: Ian Hartshorne and Ryan Kennedy

The new Council was sworn in on 24 October 2019 at the Inaugural Council meeting.

They will be attending a joint Local Government New Zealand training session in Hokitika with their colleagues from Buller and Grey District Councils on 12 November. The new Council will be fully supported to undertake their governance role on behalf of the community.


Photo Credit: Katrina Thornley Photography

Introducing the new Council