Enviroschools West Coast

18 September 2020

The Enviroschools programme encourages children and young people to become catalysts for change. Local facilitators work alongside students, teachers, whānau and communities to plan, design and implement sustainability actions across five key areas: Zero Waste, Water of Life, Energy, Ecological Building, and Living Landscapes.

The Council is a funding partner of Enviroschools West Coast, which is a partnership between Westland, Grey, and Buller District Councils, Department of Conservation and the Toimata Foundation.

There are seven Enviroschools in the Westland District as at September 2020. To find out which schools are participating and for more information please go to the Enviroschools website.

Photo 1: Kaniere School’s Envirogroup conducting a waste survey on Hokitika beach (Supplied)

Photo 2: Hokitika School’s Taiao Warriors with their vision map of a sustainable future (Supplied)


Enviroschools West Coast